Add Customer Payment Accounts

Use customer payment accounts to process payments resulting from orders or the use of contracts. The Nitrobox Webportal allows you to create payment accounts for your customers with just a few clicks. This way you can easily charge your customers, make refunds or payouts to them.

To add a payment account to a customer, go to the "Billing" section in the main navigation on the left. Click on the "Customers" menu item and select the customer entry you want to edit from the overview. Click the "Details" button at the end of the line to open the customer details paige.

Now, you are on the customer details page. Click the "Add payment account" button in the top right corner and an overlay opens.

Fill in the data fields such as name, account holder name, payment method and payment provider reference. Select the payment method (direct debit, credit card, Paypal etc.) you want to add from the drop-down menu.

Enter the account creation date and and select the merchant payment gateway.

Click the "Save" button to save the payment account or "Discard" to cancel the action.

Data field explanations

Since not all fields are self-explanatory, here is some more info on them:

Payment method reference
An external reference to identify the authorization or mandate of the payment method at the payment provider. This field is optional.

Payment provider reference
An external reference for the payment provider to identify the customer. When a payment intent for a customer's order or contract is called, this reference is used in a third-party system to identify the correct customer.

Account creation date
The date when the payment account was created at the payment provider. Required, e.g. for some external mandate managements in the SEPA environment.

Merchant payment gateway
A unique external reference to identify the merchant payment account that is associated with this account.

Click “Save” to add the new payment account. It will be listed in the billing data section “Payment accounts”. If you want to cancel instead of save the new payment account, click “Discard” and the window will close.