Modify purchase items in contracts

In this section you find all information about modifying purchase items that belong to a contract. Within the modification you can edit and cancel purchase items and set these items on hold to avoid them from being billed within the next defined billing run.

Add a purchase item

You can add new purchase items to existing contracts. They behave according to the selected "Billing interval" of the contract.

To add a purchase item to the contract, open the order detail page and click the "Add" button in the items section. The "Add purchase item" overlay will open, where you can enter all the necessary data. Click "Save" to complete the purchase.

Click the "Discard" button to close the "Add purchase item" window without making any changes.

Edit a purchase item

You can edit existing purchase items and edit all details - from name, product type, quantity to net price, tax, or properties,

If the purchase item has already been invoiced, the item will be credited 100% and re-invoiced according to the changes.

If it has not been invoiced yet, the purchase item will have only the new data and will be invoiced according to the defined invoicing time.

To edit a purchase item click the "Actions" button at the end of the respective item entry and select "Edit purchase item". The "Edit purchase item" overlay will open, where you can edit all item details. Click "Save" to complete the purchase.

Click the "Discard" button to close the "Edit purchase item" window without making any changes.

Cancel a purchase item

You can cancel existing purchase items. If the purchase item has already been invoiced, the item will be credited. If it has not been invoiced yet, the purchase item is given the status "Cancelled" and will never be billed.
Note: Once cancelled, the action cannot be reversed.

To cancel a purchase item, click the "Actions" button at the end of the respective item entry and select "Cancel purchase item". An overlay opens where you can enter a reason and click "Confirm" to cancel or "Discard" to close the window without cancelling the item.

Set a purchase item on hold

You can set purchase items on hold to avoid them being processed during the next billing run. This helps if an item might contain false information and needs to be clarified. Items that have been set to on hold can still be edited or cancelled.

To set a purchase item on hold, click the checkbox at the left side of the respective item entry and select "On Hold" in the top right corner of the table. An overlay opens where you can "Confirm" or "Discard" the action. An item can only be set to on hold if it is not cancelled, billed or already on hold. An item that is set on hold will not be shown within the table of billable items of the selected contract.

After the item is ready to be billed again you can select the item by clicking on the checkbox on the left side of the item row and click on the button "prepare invoice" in the top right corner of the table. By clicking this button an overlay opens where you can choose if you want the item to be billed immediately or within the next billing run. After confirming the item will not show the status on hold anymore and will appear again within the table of billable items.